

Greetings D13 Membership,

We had our District 13 Awards Ceremony on Saturday, February 17, at the Monarch Hotel in Clackamas, Oregon. We announced the Division and Flotilla awards for 2023, Team Commendations, Individual awards, and the Auxiliarist of the Year. We had some prestigious guests who attended, which was an honor and privilege to have with us. The guests were the Sector Commander for Columbia River, Captain Noggle and his Wife Jessica; Captain Jackson, Commander of Air Station Astoria and his Wife Melani; Lieutenant Saylor, OIA, and Wife Elizabeth; Captain Moon, Deputy Commander Sector Puget Sound, MCPO Mullins, Command Master Chief Puget Sound, Commander Jantzen, our D13 Director of Auxiliary, CWO4 Lynch (our new OTO) and his Wife Pam, YN1 PoChing our favorite and indispensable Yeoman, Christopher Robinson our new D13 RBS Specialist, and Jennifer MacArthur, our Auxiliary Affairs Specialist.

We had eighty Auxiliarists including family members join us for the Saturday night awards dinner, and all looked like they had a great time. The Master of Ceremonies was Commodore Daren Lewis, who has done this multiple times for us and who once again did a fantastic job of keeping the Chief of Staff, Commodore Kienle, and Coast Guard Officers all on track and moving along.

The night started off with remarks from Commodore Kienle, who gave us a statistical insight into the Recreational Boating Community, DNACO Singler, who spoke about our members and their need to keep reaching out to the public regarding boating safety, and Captain Jackson who gave shout outs to members that are doing exciting things in our district!

We then moved to the Change of Watch Ceremony, where the District Captains were sworn in, Team Commendation awards were presented, and unit awards which included Divisions, Flotillas, and Individual Member personal awards. The Flotilla and Division Units that took honors for the best results in 2023, plus the individual members who took honors for the best results in 2023 are listed below:

Air Station Astoria Presenter: CAPT Jackson

Coast Guard Meritorious Team Commendation

Air Station Astoria Open House 08/19/2023

Flotilla 62 Dennis Forest

Ron Hilburger Sally Kiess

John Lester

Wilhelm Mayorga

Marcus Smith

Della Wilson

Sector Columbia River Presenter: CAPT Noggle

Coast Guard Meritorious Team Commendation

Helicopter Operations

Flotilla 62 David Haugsten

Lael Hepworth

Ron Hilburger

John Lester

Ray Latham

Wilhelm Mayorga

John Molina

Elena Righettini

Gary Righettini

Marcus Smith

Flotilla 63 Camile Hickman

Sector Columbia River Presenter: CAPT Noggle

Coast Guard Meritorious Team Commendation

Thanksgiving Dinner for Sector Columbia River and Station Portland

Flotilla 54 Dennis Wood

Flotilla 73 Jim Fenske

Laurie Marks

Robert Megel, Sr

Ken Reis John Stuhr

Carel Verlinden

Flotilla 76 Michael Pigg

Mary Schuck

Flotilla 7-12 Mark Monson

DISTRICT 13 AWARDS

Division Awards

10 - Member Training

03 - Human Resources (Retention) Brown

02 - Human Resources (Recruiting) Orange

04 - Navigation Systems

05 - CG Operations Communications

06 - CG Operations Support

07 - Operations Patrols

05 - Program Visits

02 - Public Affairs

01 - Public Education

05 - Vessel Exams

02 - Food Services

05 - Division of the Year

Flotilla Awards

10-3 - Member Training

10-5 - Human Resources (Retention)

24 - Human Resources (Recruiting)

41 - Navigation Systems

73 - Navigation Systems

56 - Operations Communications

63 - Operations Support

76 - Operation Patrols

54 - Program Visits

52 - Public Affairs

- 12 Public Education
- 85 Vessel Exams
- 22 Food Services

52 - Flotilla of the Year

INDIVIDUAL AWARDS

Member Training	Dave Hansen	FL 10-3
Navigation Systems	John Stuhr	FL 73
Operations Communications	Barbara Rockfort	FL 56
Operations Support	Corey Deck	FL 63
Operations Patrols	Robert Megel	FL 73
Program Visits	Thomas Murphy	FL 54
Public Affairs	Deborah Cordone	FL 52
Public Education	George Tinker	FL 51
Vessel Exams	Linda Severin	FL 85
Culinary Assistance	Richard Pinches	FL 22
Aux Clergy Support	Lyle Schrag	FL 11

DISTRICT CAPTAINS AWARDS

District Captain's Award for Member Training Achievement

DCAPT-S	Flotilla 51	Coos bay
DCAPT-N	Flotilla 33	Tacoma
DCAPT-E	Flotilla 10-3	Helena

SPECIAL RECOGINITION AWARDS		Presenter
Auxiliary Commandant Letter of Commendation	Jenny Shea	CAPT Jackson
Auxiliary Commandant Letter of Commendation	Janae Dixon	CAPT Jackson
Auxiliary Achievement Medal	Kevin Thiel	CAPT Moon
Auxiliary Medal of Operational Merit	Mary Schuck	CAPT Noggle
Auxiliary Medal of Operational Merit	Ron Hilburger	CAPT Noggle
Member Service Award for 50 years	Ron Fritz	CDR Jantzen
Auxiliarist of the Year	John Stuhr	CDR Jantzen
Auxiliary Achievement Medal	John Stuhr	CDR Jantzen

I want to say once again to each of you that it is an extreme honor to serve you as your District Commodore and that you at the Flotillas make us one of the greatest districts in the Nation. We have clearly come out of the pandemic, and I know we will have a fantastic year. Thank you!

v/r

Dan M. Kienle

Commodore



For more Coast Guard news, visit our online newsroom here.